Welcome, September.

Reality is here to stay folks, the Summer Holidays are officially over.
We came home to a semi-tidy house but once we started unpacking the messiness that we are so used to returned! Surprise, surprise.

After numerous trips back home I still have not learned my lesson that every time we visit our family, there really is no need for a ton of jeans and clothing. Most importantly, only cozy clothes should have been prioritized as that is what I use most. This should give all of y’all an idea of how are visits back home are. Relaxing.

So after unpacking for a full day and started the infinite rounds of laundry, me and W scooted our way to Tesco to get him his uniform. But alas, none of the pants they had fit. We did however manage to get some dinner ingredients for a few days and other things to stock up for the monthly expendables such as laundry detergents, our dogs dry and wet food and small little things. I managed to get my hands on some sunflowers!
Sunflowers and me have a very special relationship. Sunflowers makes me incredibly happy. This summer my Sunflowers have been very few so my heart skipped a beat when I saw these in the flower section. I grabbed a bundle and they went with me home.

P1010344
This bright yellow shade of my sunflowers reminds me of the sun yellow Kauni yarn I’ve gotten for the baby blanket edging. It’s bright, it’s happy and it’s just fabulous.
P1010343
Every time I walk past my dinner table I swoon and swoon over these flowers. The petals are so pretty and the flowers are so huge. I could stare at these forever.
P1010351
And to add to the happiness these flowers bring, I had to bring forth my finished Kauni blanket, just because I can! I believe the border will make this blanket even more special. For the moment I have not managed to find a nice pattern to use, I have scrolled Ravelry and Google but also skimmed through my books at home. I have to give it some time so I can settle for a nice border. For now I am not even sure if it will be a knitted or crocheted border. I think both of them would suit the blanket well!
P1010353
P1010349
P1010346
These colors are so bright and suit so well with each other. The color gradations seems to flow into this lovely array of shades in between that is very pleasing to look at. I can’t wait sharing this with my best friend and her baby, that is due in a few weeks.
P1010356
Of course I had to share my beauties with you, our sign of commitment and devotion to each other. In Norway, most couples wear their rings on the right hand, I am switching between my hands to figure out what suits me best. Still not used to wearing two bands instead of one. Looking at them makes me so happy. Even though this week got a heavy start with travelling home and getting ready for W’s school, we are still in a wedded bliss. It’s wonderful and I can see K smile a lot and often. It’s just such a great thing, love.

P1010368
As it was W’s first day at School today, he asked for us to cook some chicken wings.
He found some recipe in his Tasty app that he desperately wanted to try, so we went to the local butchers and got our chicken wings. They even chopped them for us and the price was cheaper than the grocery store. It’s these little things that makes me love our village, to have local services like this that keeps the community together.
These wings were not too spicy. I did find them a bit tangy. We used our faithful Frank’s hot sauce and buffalo sauce for this recipe. It turned out well. We also made 2 small baby back ribs that I smothered in my quick to make barbecue sauce. Just some ketchup, chili flakes, maple syrup, pepper and red wine vinegar that simmers for some time while we fried the wings and waited for the ribs to finish. The sauce was perfect, a bit sweet but some heat that made W ask for seconds. Both K and W had messy gooey fingers, I don’t know why but eating without cutlery can sometimes be so fun and rewarding.
P1010366
P1010375

P1010373
On Monday the early mornings, heavy commuting and work will kick off again. I don’t want to think too much about it at this stage. There is still a lovely weekend to enjoy and to be honest, work is still super distant in my mind. I hold it off until I have to face it again. I can’t believe this Summer is now over. I can only hope that Autumn will be around the corner.

Until then, why not think back on your own Summer memories, which is your favorite?

Have a wonderful evening!

Lots of love,
T

2 thoughts on “Welcome, September.

Leave a Reply

