Memories from Scotland.

Last year, me and K went to Scotland. It was something that just happened, it was close by and we desperately needed to get away. After finishing kiddos backlog of pictures for his photo album and documenting this little trip for another photo album I decided another try at editing the pictures in black & white from our trip. I l.o.v.e black and white photography, to me it brings out the pure raw detailing of a picture. Luckily while taking most of these pictures the weather was moody which just brought out these dramatic images of the sky. I miss Scotland. I miss Edinburgh! The place is just brooding with beautiful architecture and history that it seeps through the walls. Among the old the new has popped out making this city a mix of an eclectic urban skyline that blends together creating something quirky but smart. Coming to Scotland made me understand why Harry Potter locations was inspired to be the way they were.

Circus Lane was definitely a surprise, my hidden little gem. The day we discovered this place it was desolate and empty. No cars, no people. Just us on this street which made it such a truly wonderful experience. It felt like we were uncovering a secret piece of history. Back in the cab on our way to the hotel we told the taxi driver about Circus Lane and how much we loved that place, the driver was happily surprised and said that our little gem had a lot of history. That was a wow moment for us!


During this holiday we walked everywhere, to shops, museums and the local attractions, just plainly discovering Edinburgh our way, the crazy I-don’t-care-if-we-get-lost kinda way. No maps no books, no nothing was used. It was an amazing way to explore as everyday turned out to be an adventure. We kept things super simple, got our sandwiches and drinks from a local M & S store and packed our backpacks for the stroll and just wandered around for hours on end till we got swollen feet and slept like babies every night! Our evenings were short but sweet, me and K recapping while sipping our hot tea in bed while discussing the things we did during that day.

IMG_0942-2

IMG_0956-2

We made our way down to Dean village, a cute little hideaway area that we walked to and just immersed ourselves in the pretty surroundings. I am a lover of Tudor novels and Royal history in general and for me this place was very special somehow, it felt like I was taken back into time. I could imagine a lady doing her embroidery by the bay window looking out over the river below during a cloudy day dreaming away, or perhaps ladies washing their clothes in the water? I am not sure what the history of Dean Village is as I never bothered to look it up, but the feeling of being so close to this amazing architecture made me feel in awe of the history these buildings must carry!

IMG_1150-2

IMG_1163-2

IMG_1146-2

IMG_1083

IMG_1141-2

IMG_1187-2

To continue our little trip we went to have a day trip to Glencoe. I live in Ireland and yes the scenery here is pretty from what we have seen so far. But the beauty of Glencoe still amazes me. It haunts the spirits of a clan that was pursued and killed here for some time ago. From what I’ve read online when we came back home it was a brutal massacre. Glencoe is a bittersweet place and somehow it felt like the lost spirits lingered in the wind. Me and K enjoyed this stop the most, in silence we just took in the majestic hills and made me wonder how it must have been for those that lost their lives here.

IMG_0677-2

IMG_0699-2

IMG_0687-2

Our entire trip has now become sweet memories of how amazing Scotland is. I want to go back someday and see more. Those ten fun days were not enough looking back now, but that is what even the smallest of travel can do to a person, it makes you want to explore more. A faraway distant place is definately not needed to experience discovery and exploration. I wish I just could travel and take pictures more often, with my fiber crafts in tow! I would be the happiest girl if that ever would come true!

I am a little bit nostalgic writing this, these memories that funnily enough just set itself in my heart. Next year, hopefully more travels be on the map and hopefully we will feel like adventurers again! Not much was needed to feel so content with our trip. The simplest things makes the best memories.

Tell me, have you traveled somewhere that left an imprint in your soul?

IMG_0851-2

Love,

T

 

Leave a Reply

